Peter Bradshaw is one of the co-recipients of the Spud Huestis award for mineral exploration from AME B.C. Photo: Steve Bosch/Vancouver Sun

Peter Bradshaw is one of the co-recipients of the Spud Huestis award for mineral exploration from AME B.C. Photo: Steve Bosch/Vancouver Sun

With stock prices in the tank and tax-loss selling here, it can be easy to forget about successes in the worlds of mining and junior exploration.

They still exist, of course. And today both the Association for Mineral Exploration British Columbia (AME B.C.) and the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) announced their latest award recipients.

The exploration award winners will be recognized at the AME B.C. Awards Celebration of Excellence Gala on January 27 during the 2016 Roundup conference (Tickets available at

“The annual AME B.C. awards give us the opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of the discoverers and innovators in mineral exploration and development,” says David McLelland, Chairman of AME B.C. “We are honoured to recognize these individuals and teams at our upcoming Mineral Exploration Roundup conference.”

First, the PDAC award winners. They are:

  • Robert Cudney, Stephen Roman and John Whitton are the recipients of this year’s Bill Dennis Award for the Bruce Channel gold discovery at the Red Lake Gold Camp;
  • Patricia Sheahan is the recipient of this year’s Distinguished Service Award for her unique and outstanding contribution and dedication to Canada’s mineral industry
  • Lucara Diamond Corp., who recently discovered the second largest diamond ever on record, is the recipient of this year’s Environmental & Social Responsibility Award for their stakeholder initiatives, community engagement, and focus on sustainable practices and long-term benefits at their Karawoe mine in Botswana.
  • Darrell Beaulieu is the recipient of this year’s Skookum Jim Award for his innovation, hard work and dedication to the mineral industry in his Yellowknife community
  • The Bjorkman family, of Bjorkman Prospecting, are the recipients of this year’s Special Achievement Award for their multi-generational dedication to geology, prospecting and diversity
  • The Cukaru Peki discovery team from Reservoir Minerals Inc. and Freeport-McMoRan Inc. are the recipients of this year’s Thayer Lindsley Award for the discovery of high-grade copper-gold deposits in Serbia that may prompt explorers to look for a new class of mineral deposit.
  • Silver Wheaton Corp. is the recipient of this year’s Viola R. MacMillan Award for developing new and innovative business strategies that are a leading example for other companies and junior miners.

NR: PDAC Honours Industry Leaders With 2016 Awards

This year’s AME B.C. recipients are:

Peter Bradshaw, Ron Britten, and Ursula Mowat are the recipients of the H.H. “Spud” Huestis Award for excellence in prospecting and mineral exploration in recognition of their efforts in identifying and commencing development (First Point Minerals) of a new type of nickel deposit exemplified by the Decar project in central British Columbia.

My Vancouver Sun piece on Peter Bradshaw: Passion, persistence pave Peter Bradshaw’s path to top

Rob Pease and Scott Shellhaas are the recipients of the E.A. Scholz Award for Excellence in Mine Development for advancing the Mount Milligan copper‐gold project (Thompson Creek Metals) in central B.C. through development to production from 2006 to 2013.

Clive Johnson, B2Gold CEO

Clive Johnson, B2Gold CEO

Clive Johnson is the recipient of the Murray Pezim Award for Perseverance and Success in Financing Mineral Exploration for his roles in financing mineral exploration companies including Eldorado Gold Corp., Bema Gold Corp. and B2Gold Corp.

Eira Thomas is the recipient of the Hugo Dummett Diamond Award for Excellence in Diamond Exploration and Development for significant contributions throughout her career to diamond exploration, discovery and mine development in Canada.

Interviewed Eira for the Vancouver Sun a while back: “Queen of Diamonds” has golden plans for Yukon project

Joe Piekenbrock and Rick Van Nieuwenhuyse are the recipients of the Colin Spence Award for Excellence in Global Mineral Exploration for their success in applying predictive geological modelling techniques in Alaska – to defining and significantly expanding the Donlin Creek gold deposit (NovaGold, Barrick) and Arctic copper-zinc-silver massive sulphide deposit as well as discovering and exploring the Bornite copper deposit (NovaCopper).

Patrick McAndless is the recipient of the Robert R. Hedley Award for Excellence in Social and Environmental Responsibility for his passion and talent in mentoring young professionals and his commitment to advancing the human capital of the mineral exploration and mining sector.

The late Lise Tompson-Cyr is the recipient of the David Barr Award for Excellence in Leadership and Innovation in Mineral Exploration Health and Safety for her creation of 1984 Inc., a company that had the safety of mineral exploration personnel engrained in its culture because of her leadership.

Lindsay Bottomer is the recipient of the Gold Pan Award for his exceptional meritorious service to the mineral exploration community through his work with AME BC as a volunteer for more than 20 years on a number of different committees and as president from 1998 to 2000.

Jerry Asp, Barry Price and Hans Smit are recipients of the Frank Woodside Past Presidents and Chairs Award for their distinguished service to the association and/or contribution to the mineral industry.

The three recipients of the AME B.C. Outreach Education Fund are MineralsEd for its Kids & Rocks program; Britannia Mine Museum for its education programs; and the Centre of Training Excellence in Mining to produce the second edition of B.C. Career Pathways Guidebook: Mining Careers.

Full details on the awards and each recipient here.

Beat the retail investing herd by logging in to CEO Chat, where a favourite topic of discussion is the best mineral exploration “jockeys.”